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/ Thank you! \

IN THIS ISSUE: We’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for
¢ 2021 Meeting Schedule your continued partnership. This agency owes its
success to people like you. We hope your holiday
season and the New Year has been filled with
much joy, happiness and success. We look forward

¢ Agency Webinars

¢ 2021 Legislative Proposal
Update

o Appellate Update to working with you in the coming year.

-The Staff of the Kansas Sentencing Commission

- /

4 2021 Sentencing Commission Meeting Schedule h

The 2021 meeting schedule has been approved and is available
here. Meetings are held by Zoom or in the Senate Room of the
Jayhawk Tower at 1:30 p.m.
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( Upcoming Webinar on Recent Case Law Affecting Criminal \
Sentencing in Kansas

¢ 2/25/21 at noon—sign up HERE
¢+ Ifinterested in the CLE version, see BELOW.

C o be added to the listserv, email Francis Givens at francis.givens@ks.gov. j

ﬂriminal Sentencing Case Law Update CLE - Live Webinal\

¢+ When: February 26th, 2021 at noon

¢ Cost: Free

¢ Presenters: Francis Givens (KSSC Special Projects Director)
and Chris Lyon (KSSC Staff Attorney)

+ Presenters will review recent cases affecting criminal sen-
tencing law in Kansas, with a focus on cases decided in 2020.
Both published and unpublished opinions will be discussed.
Relevant statutes will be included and discussed as well.

¢ 1 hour CLE — sign up HERE

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information from
Zoom about joining the webinar.

Contact Francis Givens at francis.givens@ks.gov if you have any questions.
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https://sentencing.ks.gov/docs/default-source/commission-meeting-minutes/2021-kssc-meeting-schedule.pdf?sfvrsn=42e8fe3f_0
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_gT9wxbKLS5ezeEgXUMZDFg
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_qPXaX268Q52oldWLIxqGuQ
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_gT9wxbKLS5ezeEgXUMZDFg

2021 KSSC Legislative Proposals

Item

Description

Amending the requirements for offender registration. See 2020 HB 2474
(Judicial Council) and 2019 HB 2051 (KSSC). Both approved.

Allowing earned discharge credit for people on probation. See 2019 HB
2052.

Increasing felony loss thresholds for certain property crimes — Eleven
property crimes proposed to be raised from $1,000 to $1,500 for felony
threshold. See 2020 HB 2485.

Changing certain penalties for drug crimes. See 2019 HB 2047.

W

Requiring legislative members of the sentencing commission to be mem-
bers of the senate judiciary and house corrections and juvenile justice as
set forth in KSA 74-9102. See 2020 HB 2493.

Clarifying concurrent or consecutive sentencing for persons convicted of
new crimes while on release for a felony. See KSA 21-6604(f)(4), KSA
21-6606(d) and 2019 HB 2046.

Extending terminal medical release to inmates in the custody of the de-
partment of corrections with a condition likely to cause death within 120
days. See 2020 HB 2469.

Creating a drug abuse treatment program for people on diversion and
allowing county attorneys to enter into agreements with court services
and community corrections for supervision. See 2020 HB 2002.

Clarifying jurisdiction and supervision of offenders in a certified drug
abuse treatment program — All parties must agree to the transfer to of-
fender’s SB 123 probation to the location where offender would be re-
ceiving usual courtesy supervision. See 2020 HB 2470.

10.

Amending the criminal penalties for unlawful tampering with electronic
equipment (SL6 np) — If an offender is on felony supervision and com-
mits this crime, the violation would be a severity level 8, nonperson fel-
ony. If on misdemeanor supervision or court-ordered supervision in any
civil case the violation would be a class A nonperson misdemeanor. See
2020 HB 2494.

11.

Modification of Care and Treatment Law — Allowing courts to prohibit
possession of a firearm in a temporary custody order pursuant to the care
and treatment act for mentally ill persons. See 2020 HB 2551.

12.

Modify Good Time and Program Credits — Current 15%-20% good time
credit would be modified to 25% for person and 40% for nonperson fel-

onies. Program credit would be increased from 120 to 150 days. See
2020 HB 2004.

13.

Early prison release to Community Corrections for certain SL 2-5 drug
offenders after 50% service of sentence in KDOC.

14.

Special Rule #26 — Determining prior convictions when charging drug
crimes in same complaint. KSA 2019 Supp. 21-6805(f)(1).

15.

Codify the definition of “absconder” in statute to assist probation and
parole officers. See St. v. Dooley.

16.

Expand drug grid presumptive probation to 3H-I, 4G-I, and 5A-D. Bor-
der boxes expanded to 3G.

17.

Total time on probation capped at twice the term.

18.

Expanding SB 123 drug treatment to nondrug offenders SL 7-10.
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http://kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/hb2474/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/hb2051/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/hb2052/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/hb2052/
http://kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/HB2485/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/hb2047/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/statute/074_000_0000_chapter/074_091_0000_article/074_091_0002_section/074_091_0002_k/
http://kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/HB2493/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/statute/021_000_0000_chapter/021_066_0000_article/021_066_0004_section/021_066_0004_k/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/statute/021_000_0000_chapter/021_066_0000_article/021_066_0006_section/021_066_0006_k/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/hb2046/
http://kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/HB2469/
http://kslegislature.org/li_2020s/b2020s/measures/hb2002/
http://kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/HB2470/
http://kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/HB2494/
http://kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/measures/hb2551/
http://kslegislature.org/li_2020s/b2020s/measures/hb2004/
http://kslegislature.org/li_2020s/b2020s/measures/hb2004/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2019_20/statute/021_000_0000_chapter/021_068_0000_article/021_068_0005_section/021_068_0005_k/
https://www.kscourts.org/KSCourts/media/KsCourts/Opinions/111554.pdf?ext=.pdf

APPELLATE UPDATE*

e In arecent case where the defendant’s prior California burglary adjudication
was scored as a person felony, the Kansas Supreme Court held that the burglary
should be scored as a nonperson offense because under Vandervort’s “closest
approximate” rule, Kansas’ non-dwelling version of the Kansas burglary statute
was the closest approximation to the relevant California statute. See State v.
Gales, 476 P.3d 412, 419 (Kan. December 4, 2020).

e A panel of the Court of Appeals recently held that prior out-of-state DUI con-
victions should only be used to calculate a defendant’s criminal history if the
elements of the statute are identical to or narrower than the Kansas DUI statute.
See State v. Myers, 475 P.3d 1256, 1264 (Kan. App. October 2, 2020).

e In a case where a juvenile offender convicted of premediated first-degree mur-
der was sentenced to a hard 50 sentence, the Court of Appeals remanded the
case back to the district court to determine whether imposing a hard 50 sen-
tence was constitutionally disproportionate under the Eighth Amendment. See
Williams v. State, No. 121,815, 2020 WL 5996442 at *16 (Kan. App. October
9, 2020). The Court held that the Eighth Amendment prohibits sentencing a
juvenile to life without parole unless he or she is “the rare juvenile offender
whose crime reflects irreparable corruption” and that this prohibition applies
regardless of whether the sentencing scheme is construed as mandatory or dis-
cretionary. /d. at 10. Additionally, the Court held that the defendant’s hard 50
sentence is the functional equivalent of life without parole. Seeid. at 14. Last-
ly, the Court held that a sentencing court cannot impose a hard 50 sentence on a
juvenile offender convicted of premediated first-degree murder without first
considering the offender's youth and attendant characteristics, including the
child's diminished culpability and heightened capacity for change, while keep-
ing in mind that such a sentence is constitutionally disproportionate for all but
the rarest of children whose crimes reflect irreparable corruption. /d. at 15.

e  Where a defendant’s criminal history included a conviction for criminal threat,
the Court of Appeals ruled that inclusion of the conviction was proper whether
the conviction was for reckless or intentional criminal threat because when the
defendant was sentenced and when his sentence became final, both the inten-
tional and reckless disregard versions of criminal threat were constitutional.
See State v. Louis, No. 121,572, 2020 WL 6243249 at *9 (Kan. App. October
23, 2020).

e The Court of Appeals recently held that a defendant’s prior offense could be
used both to calculate his criminal history score and to classify him as a persis-
tent sexual offender because the prior conviction was not used to enhance the
severity level of his current offense, it did not change his current offense from a
misdemeanor to a felony, and it was not used as an element of his current of-
fense under K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 21-6810(d)(9). See State v. Williams, No.
121,571, 2020 WL 5849347 at *2 (Kan. App. October 2, 2020) (unpublished
opinion).

e  Where a defendant’s probation extension resulted in the probation term becom-
ing longer than the underlying sentence, the Court of Appeals found the exten-
sion violated K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 21-6608(c)(8) because the statute caps proba-
tion time on the sentence imposed rather than the most prison time the district

court could have imposed at sentencing. See State v. Trevitt, No. 122,168, 2020
WL 6811983 at *3 (Kan. App. November 20, 2020) (unpublished opinion).

*This is not an exhaustive list of all cases affecting sentencing. To review all recent

cases, click here.
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https://www.kscourts.org/Cases-Opinions/Opinions

